Practice Areas
Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA)

Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA)

On June 15, 2012, the Obama Administration announced a significant policy change that will benefit certain young people who were brought to the U.S. at a young age and who meet several key criteria.

These individuals will be placed in “deferred action” status and will be allowed to remain in the United States and receive work authorization.

What is deferred action?

Deferred Action is decision by the government that an indvidual is in the United States unlawfully, but that the government will not seek to deport the individual from the United States for some period of time. Deferred Action is not legal status, per se, but it does allow an individual to remain in the U.S. and obtain work authorization and a social security number and driver’s license.

Who is eligible for deferred action?

You will be eligible for Deferred Action if:

  • You entered the U.S. before the age of 16
  • You have lived in the U.S. continuously for 5 years prior to January 1, 2015
  • You are at least 15 years old but not yet 31 on June 15, 2012
  • You were physically present in the U.S. on June 15, 2012
  • You are currently enrolled in school, have graduated high school, have obtained a GED, or have been honorably discharged from the U.S. military or Coast Guard
  • You do not have a conviction for a felony, a “significant misdemeanor,” three misdemeanors or otherwise pose a threat to national security or public safety

For further information, click on the following:

To see the full website on Deferred Action for Eligible Youth, go to